Anna Webersen, Fragile Nature

2017 Five Points Biennial
Juried Exhibition

Five Points Gallery is excited to announce the opening of the 2017 Five Points Biennial Juried Exhibition. In conjunction with the juried show, Five Points will present a special gallery talk by Robert Calafiore, artist and Assistant Dean of the Hartford Art School, University of Hartford. Calafiore’s talk, What Art is… Not, will take place on August 25, at 6:00 p.m. Members of the public are encouraged to attend the talk. Admission is free.

The 2017 Biennial was juried by Joe Fig. Fig is an artist, author and the Head of Fine Arts / Visual Studies at Ringling College of Art and Design. His paintings, sculptures, photographs, drawings and videos have been exhibited nationally and internationally. He is the author of the acclaimed Inside the Painter’s Studio and Inside the Artist’s Studio (Princeton Architectural Press), which shares an intimate view inside the studios of today’s leading artists. His work is included in numerous museums and leading private collections. Joe Fig is an advisory board member of Five Points and is represented by Cristin Tierney Gallery in New York.

Fig selected 60 artists representing 15 states from a field of nearly 1000 submitted images. The featured artists are: Aaron M. Flynn, Adrian Pulido, Aedan O’Brien, Amy Ozga, Anna Webersen, Ashley Visconti, Barbara Marks, Ben Dworski-Riggs, Benjamin Madeska, Benjamin S. Jones, Ben Rosecrans, Brandon Brownlee, Candace Wark, Candice Flewharty, Chris Perry, Christopher Priebe, Claudine Metrick, Danuta Syp Gordon, DeAnn Prosia, Deborah Gillespie, Deborah Sacks, Ethan Newman, Fehmida Chipty, Gina Kingsley, Helen Cantrell, Ira Upin, Jacob Cullers, James O’Donnell, Jason Tanner Young, Joan Zagrobleny, John Humphries, John Johnson, John Kayrouz, John Wheat, Joseph Saccio, Karl Goulet, Keri Halloran, Kristen Walsh, Laura Viola Preciado, Lindsay Garcia, Lousie Laplante, Mark Römisch, Mark Williams, Mary Agnes Williams, Max Seinfeld, Megan Crist, Nan Runde, Nicholas Hullibarger, Niki Kriese, Penny Putnam, Peter Coffeen, Renee Brown, Ryan Chapman, Shulin Sun, Stephanie Serpick, Sue Lezon, Tom Hlas, Tracy Ostmann-Haschke, Virginia Rougon- Chavis, Vittorio Ottaviani.

Fig’s selection of the exhibition’s single award, a 2018 solo exhibition will be announced at the opening reception on Friday, August 4.

Five Points is pleased to announce that ten percent of the gallery commission on work sold in the 2017 Five Points Juried Exhibition will be donated to the Susan B Anthony Project. The show will run through September 2, 2017. Gallery hours are Thursday through Monday, 1 pm to 5 pm.

Opening reception: Friday, August 4, 6 to 8:30 pm
Special Gallery Talk: Friday, August 25, 6 pm


Five Points Gallery
33 Main Street

860 618-7222